SBCC Important Dates 2019-2020

Tropicana Gardens
SBCC 2019 - 2020 Academic Year Calendar

This calendar is based on the academic and administrative calendar published by SBCC and is subject to change.

FALL SEMESTER - 2019

Aug 25 Sunday Move In begins at 9:00 am
Aug 26 Monday SBCC Classes begin
Sept 2 Monday Academic Holiday - Holiday Meal Schedule
Nov 11 Friday Academic Holiday - Holiday Meal Schedule
Nov 27 Wednesday Thanksgiving recess begins; last meal lunch
Residents depart by 5:00 pm*
Dec 1 Sunday Tropicana Gardens reopens at 1:00 pm
Dec 2 Monday Instruction resumes; meals begin with breakfast
Dec 13 Friday Fall Semester ends; last meal is dinner on December 13th
Dec 14 Saturday Tropicana Closes. Residents depart for Winter Break by 1:00 pm*

SPRING SEMESTER - 2020

Jan 12 Sunday Tropicana Reopens at 1:00 PM, Cafe Reopens, meals begin with dinner
Jan 13 Monday SBCC Classes begin
Jan 20 Monday Academic Holiday - Holiday Meal Schedule
Feb 17 Monday Academic Holiday - Holiday Meal Schedule
March 20 Friday SBCC Spring Break begins; last meal lunch
Residents depart by 5:00 pm*
March 29 Sunday Tropicana Gardens reopens at 1:00 pm
March 30 Monday Instruction resumes; SBCC meals begin with breakfast
May 8 Friday Spring Semester ends; last meal dinner
May 9 Saturday Tropicana Gardens closes for SBCC residents move out by 1:00 pm

 

*Residence Halls traditionally close for the Thanksgiving holiday, Winter Break (includes Christmas and New Year's) and Spring Break. If you are unable to go home during Santa Barbara City College academic breaks because of school, athletic or work obligations, you may make arrangements to stay at Tropicana Gardens. Requests must be made in advance at the front desk and are approved on a case by case basis.

Early Move-in Information

Come for a Tour

Come by anytime between 10:00am and 5:30pm to tour the property and see if Tropicana Gardens is the right place for you!

PARKING: Visitor parking can be found in the back of Tropicana Gardens in spaces 56 and 57. Please park in the spaces marked Visitor and note the number of your parking space. We'll be happy to issue a parking pass while you visit our communities!